My First Book

The first Trade book I worked on as a copy editor was North Pole or Bust by Canadian author and film-maker Frank Rasky. I had been with the company for all of one day. The book was a series of vignettes of Arctic explorers (subsequently made into an NFB film by Rasky.) That was in 1977.

It’s interesting because as I recall it, I was given a first set of “galleys” to proofread. On my second day the Managing Editor took me in to meet the VP Editorial at the time. She was perceived as the dragon-lady who sat in a darkened corner office, smoking her lungs out. She asked me what I was working on and I told her I was proofreading the Rasky galleys and that I had almost finished them. She then asked if I was finding many typos and I said no, they looked pretty clean.

She then said, “Oh, the typesetter must have hired a new compositor.”

That’s all she needed to say. I immediately went back to my desk and started proofreading the galleys from scratch!

That one comment was enough to send you slinking back to your cubicle knowing that your work was being scrutinized, even though no-one was actually looking over your shoulder.

It was my introduction to the world of copyediting.

About The Ryerson Press Archive

My name is Clive Powell. I worked for McGraw-Hill Ryerson for 35 years. Recently I was asked to find a home for 3000 publications that represent the Ryerson Press Archive. I am happy to share my discoveries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

